Apple’s iPhone

by Jack Richins

Great presentation. But then you start looking at the specs and the price. This post sums up a lot of my fears about the iPhone – http://www.shahine.com/omar/ThoughtsOnTheMacworldKeynote.aspx. And other than the touch screen, my current phone, which cost me about $200 2 years ago does everything they mentioned, except it doesn’t hold nearly the storage the iPhone has. But if I were truly to ditch my iPod to justify having an iPhone, the 8 GB isn’t enough. I’d need at least 30 GB.

Now this is a v1 product. The first iPod was what, $500 for a 5 GB model? Big, bad battery life. And the first Mac? 128 kb, no hard disk, black and white screen? The touch screen interface could be cool, but that’s the only innovation I see now. The Apple TV on the other hand is intriguing.

